What are the Catalans like?


Question by: Dr. Gilda Moretti | Last updated: December 30, 2021

Rating: 4.7 / 5
(19 votes)

The Catalan is generally a hard worker, honest, fair, punctual and respectful, who expects to be treated equally by his colleagues. Often, the sense of justice leads them not to want to pay more than they should and therefore they tend to be seen as miserly.

What origins do the Catalans have?

Catalonia, already inhabited since the Paleolithic and Neolithic periods, starting from the late Bronze Age (about 1200 BC) was colonized by the Indo-European protoceltic populations of the urnfields from Central-Western Europe who settled in small groups throughout the region also touching the …

Who is part of Catalonia?

Composed of four provinces, Barcelona, ​​Gerona, Lleida and Tarragona, its capital is the city of Barcelona. It borders to the north with France (Occitania region, from which it is separated by the Pyrenees range) and Andorra, to the west with Aragon, to the east with the Mediterranean Sea, and to the south with the Valencian Community.

In which Italian regions is Catalan spoken?

Extension of the Catalan language Catalan is spoken in the principality of Andorra, in Catalonia, the Valencian Community, the Balearic Islands and Frangia d’Aragona (Spain), in Sardinia in Alghero (Italy) and, finally, in Roussillon (France).

What are the Catalan countries?

Territories that make up the Catalan countries

  • Catalonia;
  • the Valencian Community;
  • the Balearic Islands;
  • the Frangia d’Aragona, including some territories of Aragon;
  • the Carxe, a small part of the Murcia region.

Find 37 related questions

What does Catalonia include?

Catalonia (Catalan Catalunya, sp. Cataluña) Autonomous Community of Spain (32,091 km2, with 7,210,508 inhab. in 2007), the second by population, after Andalusia; capital Barcelona. It occupies the north-eastern part of the Iberian Peninsula and includes the provinces of Barcelona, ​​Gerona, Lérida and Tarragona.

Where is French spoken in Italy?

French is recognized as an official language, alongside Italian, in the administrative region of the Aosta Valley; as a minority language (➔ linguistic minorities), together with Provençal (➔ Provençal, community) or Franco-Provençal (➔ Franco-Provençal, community), in some Alpine valleys of Piedmont (more …

Where is Germanic spoken in Italy?

In Italy: in Italy Germanic-type dialects are traditionally spoken throughout the autonomous province of Bolzano (with the exception of the Ladin valleys, where however German is the cultural reference language): this area constitutes a linguistic peninsula with respect to the Austrian hinterland, from which South Tyrol (or …

Where is Croatian spoken in Italy?

Croatian is the official language of the Republic of Croatia; variously sizeable minorities are present in Bosnia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, Hungary and Austria. Diffusion in Italy: Croatian is spoken in the three municipalities of San Felice del Molise, Montemitro and Acquaviva Collecroce, in the province of Campobasso.

Where is Catalonia?

Catalonia is located in the eastern part of Spain, bordering France and Andorra, between the Pyrenees and the Mediterranean Sea. The two official languages ​​that are spoken in Catalonia are Catalan and Spanish. In 2016 Catalonia was part of the “European Region of Gastronomy”.

Where is the Castilian language spoken?

The term “Castilian” (castellano) is used above all to highlight that it is a native language of Castile and not of other regions of Spain of which other politically recognized languages ​​are indigenous (Catalonia, Valencian Community, Balearic Islands, Basque Country, Navarre and Galicia), so above all …

What is Catalonia famous for?

There are also some differences between Spanish and Catalan cuisine. Spain is famous for its chorizo ​​and paella, while Catalonia is mainly known for butifarra (spiced pork sausage), fideuà (a kind of paella with spaghetti) and calçots (spring onions).

What is the difference between Catalan and Spanish?

Spanish, or rather Castilian, is spoken in most of the Spanish regions and in Central and South America. Catalan, on the other hand, is the co-official language – language, not dialect – in Catalonia, the Balearic Islands and the Valencian community (and this is where Valencian, a dialect of Catalan, is spoken).

When was Catalonia annexed to Spain?

During the reign of Isabella and Ferdinando the Reconquista was completed, with the conquest of Granada by the Catholic Monarchs who annexed it in 1492 to the Kingdom of Castile.

What is the flag of Catalonia?

The Catalan flag, called senyera (pronounced / sɐ’ɲeɾə /, transliterated into Spanish as señera), is a vexillological symbol formed by four red bands on a golden field that historically represented the monarchy of the Crown of Aragon; it is still used today as a flag in Catalonia and, with slight variations …

Where is Dalmatian spoken?

Dalmatian or Dalmatian was a Romance language (or, according to some scholars, a group of Romance languages) once spoken along the coasts of Dalmatia, from the Gulf of Kvarner to Bar.

What are the traces that the Germans left in Italy?

Even our way of dressing derives in part from the clothing of the Germans, who imported the custom of wearing sewn and tight-fitting clothes, shirts and trousers for example, which protected from the cold and allowed the body to move with greater freedom.

Which countries speak French?

Countries where French is the official language:

  • Europe. Belgium. France. Luxembourg. Monk. Swiss. Valle d’Aosta. …
  • America. Canada. Haiti. United States. Louisiana. Overseas France.
  • Africa. Benin. Burkina Faso. Burundi. Cameroon. Central African Rep. …
  • Asia. Lebanon. Territory of Pondicherry.
  • Oceania. Vanuatu. Overseas France.

Which countries are part of the Francophonie?

The OIF represents 56 member states and 14 observer states, ie over two thirds of the UN member states.

Who are the real French speakers?

From a linguistic point of view, the term “Francophonie” is the set of countries that have French as their mother tongue and / or official, as well as those in which this language, although not recognized as official, plays the role of second language official “de facto”.

What are the 17 regions of Spain?

Provided by the Spanish constitution of 1978, there are 17 autonomous communities: Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, Balearic Islands, Canary Islands, Cantabria, Castile-La Mancha, Castile and León, Catalonia, Valencian Community, Extremadura, Galicia, La Rioja, Community of Madrid , Region of Murcia, Navarre and the Basque Country.

Where are the Balearics located?

The Balearic Islands are located between Spain and the North African coast, and surrounded by the waters of the Mediterranean.

What region are the Balearics in?

Balearic Islands (Catalan Illes Balears; sp. Islas Baleares) Western Mediterranean archipelago (4992 km2, 1,107,220 inhab. in 2016); capital Palma de Mallorca; autonomous region of Spain since 1983.


Visit Business Planers for more quality information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.