What does Hindu religion mean?


Question by: Dr. Jole Bernardi | Last updated: February 9, 2022

Rating: 4.5 / 5
(31 votes)

Hinduism (or Hinduism; traditionally called Sanātanadharma, in Sanskrit devanāgarī सनातनधर्म, lit. “eternal law / religion”) is a religion, or rather a set of religious beliefs, among the most widespread in the world and among those with the most ancient.

What are the elements that belong to the Hindu religion?

Central elements of Hindu religiosity are: the temple, the cult of the great rivers (the Ganges, whose name in Hindi is feminine and which is considered as a great mother, the Jamuna and the mythical Sarasvati, also called the river of knowledge, which would flow underground and invisible), the celebration every twelve …

Who is the Hindu God?

Īśvara (in its innumerable forms and names) constitutes the supreme aspect of God among the main devotional cults (Bhakti or Bhakti Yoga) monotheistic, namely Shaivaism (monotheism of Shiva), Vaishnavism (monotheism of Vishnu / Krishna) and Shaktism (monotheism of Devi, the Divine Mother, also called Shakti).

What do Hindus believe?

– Brahma, the creator God of the universe; – Vishnu, the creator God of the world; – Shiva, the God who dissolves everything; Believers of this religion believe in reincarnation: if a person has behaved badly during his life, he has the possibility to atone for his sins through another body.

Why is Hinduism a polytheistic religion?

Hinduism was (and still remains today) a polytheistic religion: it worshiped numerous divinities, some common to all, others linked to specific localities. … The Indian deities are all understood as aspects of brahman, the first principle.

Find 44 related questions

Who do Hindus worship?

This religion, in its modern form, is made up of three great traditions: Shaivism, Vishnuism and Shaktism, whose followers consider respectively Shiva, Vishnu or the Shakti (the latter also called Devi) as being the supreme deity.

Who are the main forms of Hindu deities and what is their role?

The Trimurti is made up of:> Brahma, the god of Creation; > Vishnu, that of preservation; > Shiva, the god of destruction or reabsorption.

How many heads does Brahma have?

Brahma is depicted as a red man with four heads – originally five – one of which was cut off by Shiva. He is sitting on the lotus that bore him. The lotus emerges from Vishnu’s navel. …

Who is the most important figure for Christians?

The religion

Christianity recognizes Jesus as the Christ (Messiah) attested by the Torah and the Jewish tradition and, in almost all of its denominations, as God made man.

What are the monotheistic religions?

Christianity (Catholicism / Protestantism / Orthodoxy) Islam (7th century, Sunni / Shiism / Ibadism) Sikhism (15th century, India) Bahaism (19th century)

How many castes are there in the Hindu system?

The main and most commonly known characteristics that outline the caste system are: The Hindu world is “quadripartite”: there are four main castes, to which is added that of the “outcasts” or “dalits” (also called pariahs or untouchables). Castes are endogamically closed social groups.

What is the name of the holy book of the Hindus?

The sacred texts

The Vedas are divided into four parts: Rig Veda, Yajur Veda, Sama Veda and Athara Veda; in turn, each section is divided into further four parts: Samhita (mantras and hymns), Brahmana (ritual texts), Aranyaka (theology) and Upanishad (philosophy).

What is the name of the symbol of Hinduism?

Om (also known as Aum) is the most widespread and universal of the symbols of Hinduism and is the sound one makes during meditation.

What is the name of the conservative God of Trimurti?

In Hinduism, the Trimurti (three forms, in Sanskrit), often also referred to as the “Hindu trinity” indicates the three main divine aspects, manifested in the forms of three important archetypal Deva: Brahmā is the Creator. Vishnu is the Preserver.

What are the three Hindu deities?

In the latter case we want to indicate in the Trimurti the triple form of the supreme Being of Hinduism, which manifests itself in the three divinities of Brahmā (the creator), Vishnu (the preserver) and Siva (the destroyer), and exercises his saving power by means of avatars (the most important are the heroes Ram and …

Who is Krishna?

Krishna (devanagari: कृष्ण, Kṛṣṇa) is, in the Hindu religious tradition, the name of an avatar of the god Vishnu and this is considered by the religious current referred to as Vishnuism, which considers Vishnu as the main deity, the supreme Being.

What does the goddess Kali represent?

Kālī Indian deity, wife of Śiva, goddess of destruction and death. She is depicted with four arms, sprinkled with blood and adorned with a necklace of skulls and a belt of snakes. In Bengal she was formerly worshiped with offerings of human sacrifices.

Why is it said that Hinduism is a polytheistic pantheistic monolatric religion?

Hinduism is at the same time a monolatrous, pantheistic and polytheistic religion. It is monolatrous because there is no difficulty for Hindus to define the Absolute as unique, unknowable, mysterious and transcendent.

What are the main polytheistic religions?

polytheism A form of religion characterized by the veneration of several divinities. In contrast to monotheism, represented by only 4 great historical religions (Zoroastrianism, Judaism, Christianity, Islam), it could be said that all the other religions of the world are polytheistic.

What does the guru do?

Guru is a Sanskrit masculine term (devanāgarī गुरू, gurū) which in the Hindu religion has the meaning of “spiritual master”, and refers especially to the one who imparts dīkṣā to his disciple.

What are the sacred texts called?

Sacred texts (or sacred scriptures) are documents or literary works considered sacred by religions and spiritual movements.

What are the most important texts of the Hindus called?


  • Agastya Samhita.
  • Āraṇyaka.
  • Ashtavakra Gita.
  • Atharvaveda.

What is the name of the set of sacred texts?

Avesta in the Treccani Encyclopedia.

What are the main castes?

The caste system was gradually institutionalized throughout the course of the 1st millennium BC, when the fundamental subdivision between the four castes of priests (brahmana), warriors (ksatriya), merchants and craftsmen (vaisya), servants ( sudra).


Visit Business Planers for more quality information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *