Wine landscapes of Langhe Roero and Monferrato?


Question by: Marianita Sartori | Last updated: December 29, 2021

Rating: 4.2 / 5
(65 votes)

The wine-growing landscape of Piedmont: Langhe-Roero and Monferrato is a world heritage site that includes a series of locations located in the wine-growing areas of Lower Piedmont: Langhe, Roero and Monferrato. It has the characteristics of a cultural landscape.

What are the wine-growing landscapes of Piedmont?

The wine-growing landscapes of Langhe-Roero and Monferrato in Piedmont are made up of five distinct wine areas and a castle: The Langa del Barolo, the hills of Barbaresco, Nizza Monferrato and Barbera, Canelli and Asti Spumante, Monferrato degli Infernot , the Castle of Grinzane Cavour.

When did the Langhe become Unesco heritage?

On 22 June 2014, the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, with Decision no. 38 COM 8B.41, has registered the site “The wine-growing landscapes of Piedmont: Langhe-Roero and Monferrato” in the World Heritage List.

Where are the hills of the Langhe and Monferrato located?

The Langhe are a geographical territory or sub-area of ​​lower Piedmont, located between the provinces of Cuneo and Asti, consisting of an extensive hilly system, delimited by the course of the rivers Tànaro, Belbo, Bòrmida di Millesimo and Bòrmida di Spigno and bordering the ‘Astesana, Monferrato and Roero.

What are the Unesco sites in Piedmont?

Piedmont boasts 5 sites:

  • The Savoy Residences (1997)
  • The Sacred Mountains of Piedmont and Lombardy (2003)
  • The prehistoric pile-dwelling sites of the Alps (2011)
  • The Wine Landscapes of Piedmont: Langhe-Roero and Monferrato (2014)
  • Ivrea Industrial City of the 20th Century (2018)

Find 15 related questions

How many Unesco sites are there in Liguria?

The Cinque Terre, recognized by UNESCO as a “World Heritage Site”, within the National Park and Marine Protected Area, are five villages: Riomaggiore, Manarola, Corniglia, Vernazza and Monterosso, in a corner of Liguria that reveals its history not only through the structure of the inhabited areas, the …

What are the Unesco sites in Sicily?

In fact, there are 7 sites of historical, cultural and naturalistic importance in Sicily that UNESCO has decided to include in the World Heritage List.

In which region are the Langhe hills located?

Langhe refers to the Piedmontese territory located between the provinces of Cuneo and Asti. It is a territory that can be divided into low-altitude Langhe villages, high-altitude Langhe villages and Langhe Astigiane.

What type of hills do the Langhe and Murge belong to?

Tectonic hills result from wrinkling of the earth’s crust and lifting of the seabed. The hills of Monferrato and Langhe in Piedmont, the Murge and Gargano in Puglia are of tectonic origin.

Where is the Langhe and Monferrato area located What are the typical wines?

The Langhe are divided into the Upper and Lower Langa, the lower Langa is located to the north between the Tanaro and Belbo rivers and is recognized throughout the world for its most prestigious wines such as Barolo and Barbaresco as well as Pelaverga, Dolcetto d ‘ Alba and Dogliani in Nebbiolo and Barbera.

What to see in the Langhe in 3 days?

3-day itinerary in the Langhe

  • The medieval village of Neive.
  • The Tower of Barbaresco.
  • The historic center of Alba.
  • The Castle of Grinzane Cavour.
  • Serralunga Castle.
  • WiMu: the Wine Museum in Barolo.
  • The Corkscrew Museum.
  • The village of Monforte.

Which are the villages of the Langhe?

11 villages to visit in the Langhe

  • La Morra. Perched on top of a hill, La Morra is one of the villages with the most spectacular view over the Langhe. …
  • Verduno. …
  • Barolo. …
  • Serralunga d’Alba. …
  • Barbaresco. …
  • Neive. …
  • Grinzane Cavour. …
  • Castiglione Falletto.

What are the municipalities of the Langhe?

Cities & Towns in Langa and Roero

  • A. Alba. Lower Langa. Albaretto Torre. Alta Langa. …
  • B. Baldissero d’Alba. Roero. Barbaresco. …
  • C. Camerana. Alta Langa. Channel. …
  • D. Diano d’Alba. Lower Langa. Dogliani. …
  • F. Farigliano. Lower Langa. Feisoglio. …
  • G. Gorzegno. Alta Langa. Gottasecca. …
  • I. Igliano. Langa Monregalese.
  • L. La Morra. Lower Langa. Lequio Berria.

What kind of hills are the Langhe?

Then due to tectonic thrusts, the canal closed and our Langhe were formed which are considered an “Apennine ridge”; dorsal that from 754 meters above sea level of Montezemolo, reaches the maximum point of 950 meters in Mombarcaro, and then slopes down to Dogliani, (340 m.) and Alba. (172 m.

What origin do the Metalliferous hills have?

The Metalliferous Hills> Geological birth. In the context of massive geological phenomena that occurred about 70 million years ago, a mass of granite magma made an intrusion among the sedimentary formations of the area.

Where to eat well without spending too much in the Langhe?

  • Where to eat in the Langhe: 10 unmissable places (in our opinion)
  • For Bacchus – La Morra.
  • Circolo La Torre – Albaretto Torre.
  • From Felicin – Monforte d’Alba.
  • Osteria da Gemma – Roddino.
  • Dai Bercau – Verduno.
  • Osteria Veglio – La Morra.
  • Tastè – Barbaresco.

What to see in the Langhe in two days?


  • BAROLO: a museum in the castle in the Langhe.
  • BAROLO CHAPEL (LA MORRA): what to see in the Langhe.
  • GRINZANE CAVOUR: the castle of the famous count.
  • THE GIANT BENCHES OF MONFORTE D’ALBA: panoramas to see in the Langhe.

What are the names of the inhabitants of the Langhe?

Just as I was doing my research for that post I realized that there is a bit of confusion as to which is the most correct term for the inhabitants of the Langhe hills: langhetti or langaroli. Based on my personal experience I can say that those who live in the Langa define themselves as langhetto.

How many Unesco sites are there in Italy?

According to the Convention, UNESCO has so far recognized a total of 1154 sites (897 cultural, 218 natural and 39 mixed sites) present in 167 countries around the world. Italy currently holds the largest number of sites included in the World Heritage List: 58 sites.

Which is the Italian region with the most Unesco sites?

With 10 sites recognized as World Heritage Sites to which is added the intangible site of the Violin Making of Cremona, Lombardy is confirmed as the Italian region with the record of Unesco Sites. Places of the soul, to visit and live, where the experience of beauty is confronted with history.

Why is Etna a World Heritage Site?

The Ansa reports the Unesco motivations according to which “The craters of the summit, the ash cones, the lava flows, the lava caves and the depression of the Bove valley make Etna a privileged destination for research and education it continues to influence volcanology, geophysics and others …

What is the artistic heritage of Liguria?

The Strade Nuove and the Palazzi dei Rolli, Genoa

In particular, what is recognized by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site is the system of the Palazzi dei Rolli. These buildings were ancient noble residences, 42 of which included in the UNESCO list, which stood out in the city for their degree of prestige.

How many UNESCO sites are there in Lombardy?

Discover the UNESCO sites in Lombardy. Visit Lombardy and its wealth of UNESCO sites. Did you know that Lombardy is the Italian region that hosts the largest number of World Heritage sites? We have 12 of them, 10 of which are part of the UNESCO Material Heritage and 2 of the Intangible Heritage, here they are.

What are the main cultural and artistic assets of Liguria?


  • The Arene Candide Cave, in Finale Ligure;
  • The Roman villa of Bussana in Sanremo;
  • The Villa Matutia in Sanremo;
  • The archaeological area of ​​Costa Balenae of Riva Ligure;
  • The archaeological area of ​​the ancient city of Albintimilium di Ventimiglia;


Visit Business Planers for more quality information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.